Posted by: WesWoodell | April 3, 2009

Would you want your own morning show?

So my buddy from Memphis, Tripp, came into San Francisco yesterday with his wife Nhung (pronouced Young). I picked them up at the airport and brought them over to my house for dinner with the fam.

Tripp and I worked together for several years at 94.1 The Buzz as DJs. If there was a radio function during those years, such as a concert, club, or bar appearance, you could bet me and Tripp would be there and we’d be together (unless one of us was on the air at the time).

So Tripp is a mass media big-shot now. He’s a program director at a station in Memphis, and I was joking with him yesterday about how I might call him up for a job someday. He came back with a response of his own: “Well, what are you doing right now? Want your own morning show? You’ve always wanted to do mornings, haven’t you Wood?”

Ha! Wouldn’t that be fun.

I told him I appreciated the thought, but that I was a little busy in San Francisco right now (and would be for a few years). But it got me to thinking – what kind of missional opportunities might present themselves for a person who were in a position like that? If I had my own mildly entertaining morning show, how many people would be willing to listen to me tell them about Jesus because of my job?

Now, don’t worry. I’m not going anywhere – just thinking out loud. I think some people’s ministry would be most effective if they weren’t working in ministry full-time.

What do you think?

[Originally posted on WestCoastWitness.com]
Leave a Reply

Categories

